The region of biosphere reserve, which is legally protected and where no human activity is allowed is known as

(a) core zone

(c) transition zone

(b) buffer zone

(d) restoration zone

(a) Biosphere reserve consists of three zones, i.e. core, buffer and transition zone. Core zone comprises an undisturbed and legally protected ecosystem, where no human activity is allowed. Buffer zone surrounds the core area and transitions zone is the outermost area of the biosphere reserve, where active cooperation between reserve management and the local people occur.

Difficulty Level:

  • 69%
  • 11%
  • 15%
  • 7%