NEET Zoology Biomolecules Questions Solved


Amino acids may be acidic, alkaline or neutral. How does this happen ? What are essential and non-essential amino acids ? Name one of each type.            (3 marks)

Amino acids can be boardly classified into three classes i.e., acidic, alkaline and neutral amino acids depending on the number of -NH2 group and -COOH group.

Acidic amino acids : Those α-amino acids such as aspartic acid, asparagine and glutamic acid which contain two -COOH groups and one -NH2 group are called acidic amino acids.

Alkaline or Basic amino acids : Those α-amino acids such as lysine, arginine and histidine which contain two -NH2 groups and one -COOH group, are called basic amino acids.

Neutral amino acids : Those α-amino acids such as glycine, alanine, valine etc. which contain one -NH2 and one -COOH group, are called netural amino acids.

Essential and non-essential amino acids :

Essential amino acids : Amino acids which the body cannot synthesize are called essential amino acids.

Example : Valine, leucine etc. Therefore they must be supplied in diet.

Non-essential amino acids : Amino acids which the body can synthesize are called non-essential amino acids. Therefore, they may or may not be present in diet.

Example : Glycine, alanine etc.

Difficulty Level:

  • 100%
  • 0%
  • 0%
  • 0%
Crack NEET with Online Course - Free Trial (Offer Valid Till August 27, 2019)