NEET Botany Biological Classification Questions Solved

The photoautotrophic organisms that do not split water to obtain reducing power are 

(1) purple bacteria 

(2) cyanobacteria

(3) green plants

(4) none of these

Audio Explanation:

(1) NADPH is the reducing power of the cell. The release of oxygen and reduction of NADP+ is termed as photolysis or splitting of water. Eukaryotes (green plants) and cyanobacteria release oxygen by splitting of water (i.e., oxidation of water). In purple bacteria, the electron donors are some sulphur containing organic or inorganic compounds.

Difficulty Level:

  • 51%
  • 31%
  • 9%
  • 11%
Crack NEET with Online Course - Free Trial (Offer Valid Till August 24, 2019)