NEET Botany Biological Classification Questions Solved

In the five kingdoms, which single kingdom contains blue-green algae, nitrogen fixing bacteria, and methanogenic archaebacteria?

(1) Monera

(2) Protista

(3) Plantae

(4) Fungi

Audio Explanation:

(1) Blue green bacteria [cynobacteria] are prokaryotes, lack membrane bound organelles, cell wall of peptidoglycan and can fix atomopheric nitrogen. They are, thus, included in Kingdom Monera.

Difficulty Level:

  • 75%
  • 15%
  • 5%
  • 7%